Skip to content

Galdhöpiggen (1)

October 4, 2009

The story behind the following photos is found here:
Conquering a Mountain

This is the first part of the climb toward the top of Galdhöpiggen, Norway’s (and northern Europe’s) highest mountain, 2469 meters.

IMG_9283
We drove up to Juvashytta where we started the four hour ascend to the top. This place is actually a summer ski center, as you see in the background, next to a beautiful glacier lake.

IMG_9280
First steps on the glacier snow.

IMG_9294
But we had to be careful. There were these “Danger” signs everywhere warning us for holes underneath the snow.

IMG_9305
That’s why we had to walk over the largest glacier tied up, in case one of us would drop down. Mattias, Jehoshua, and Johannes.

IMG_9306
And up we go…

IMG_9310
… toward the top. We could see it now.

IMG_9318
On a short pause I took this shot. One of my favorites. 🙂

IMG_9337
Here you get a feel for how big this glacier was. You see that little black line at the bottom right. That’s a group of 50 people walking over the snow.

IMG_9334
Coming to the first ridge after the glacier. Time for a break…

IMG_9344
… and taking off the ropes before starting the last steep climb.

Tomorrow: Reaching the top.

Here are all the photos from this part:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    November 4, 2009 16:45

    Hi.. 🙂
    It looks awesome!
    I was wondering what does it cost to climb the mountain?
    And are there any caves on the way?
    I was plannning to go there in 2012. 😀

    Sara, Denmark.

  2. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    October 11, 2009 05:56

    Looks like it was a fantastic outing/excursion. I haven’t really done anything like that before – though I did once walk across the Tasman Glacier in New Zealand, when our family went there for the Christmas holidays, when I was 6 years old.

    I don’t remember much about it, except that they had trouble finding a pair of boots to fit me, for the walk. I do remember it was very slippery, and I was always afraid I was going to fall. My mother always reminds me that our guide on the glacier, who happened to be an Austrian man, took good care of me – and she seemed to think he was very handsome as well. Sadly for me, I cannot remember what he looked like!

  3. lorrie permalink
    October 9, 2009 00:56

    I believe that being in nature with our children is a great gift. We visit the ocean and remote islands in Canada for this reason. Seems that you and your family are on a wonderful journey. Thanks for sharing it with the rest of us.
    Peace, from British Columbia, Canada!

    • October 9, 2009 10:49

      Mmm… I feel jealous. Can we come too? 🙂
      Thanks, Lorrie.
      Peace, from Stockholm

Leave a Reply

