Skip to content

The Finisher

August 24, 2009

This is my favorite photo from Vasatrampet. Maybe it’s a mean thing to say, considering that this older man had to walk 500 meters with his broken bike in his hands – and he wasn’t very happy.

He said that some kids had thrown a big rock on the road, and that he ruined his tire when he ran over it. I asked him if he had seen who the pranksters were, but he admitted to seeing noone although he kept insisting it must have been some kids.

Later I spoke with some other cyklists who had encountered this man during the race. They said he was really grumpy and kept yelling to everyone what they did wrong.

I smiled to myself. Maybe it wasn’t kids after all? Perhaps it was divine intervention. As the Swedish saying goes: God punishes some people straight away (Somliga straffar Gud genast)🙂

But I have to hand it to him: He did finish the race!

IMG_9757

“Heja, heja, heja!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 22:35

    HEJ LOUIS, NEXT TIME WHEN YOU AND YOUR BROTHERS ,SHALL TO VASATRAMPET ,AND IF THE IS ONE AS NOT WIN THEN TELL HIM THE WORD . LOSE AND WIND WITH THE SAME SIND ( TAB OG VIND MED SAMME SIND ) BUT I UNDERSTAND WHY IT IS YOUR FAVORITE PHOTO . HUGS FROM ME

  2. August 24, 2009 21:31

    I absolutely love it! Although he himself wasn’t too happy I can imagine.
    But what goes around comes around, or so they say😉 Perhaps he had a lesson learned.

    That said, I like the fact that he did complete the race in spite of his troubles; better to finish with a broken bike than break it off half-way and never reach that finish mark at all. My applause for that.. along with a little smile🙂 The photo is wonderfully funny!

Leave a Reply

