Skip to content

Mom and Dad

August 18, 2009

In the past few posts (Gotland: FåröIs this better?) I have shows some photos from Gotland, the big island on our eastern sea border. We were there last month to visit my parents. They are there as missionaries for the LDS church, helping out in the small congregation at Visby.

Gotland is a magical place, and to be there with my parents was truly fun. We don’t get to see them that often, as they have mostly lived in the US in the past years (we have family there as well). But now my children had a chance to spend more time with them during our visit. That was enjoyable for the kids – not to mention their grandparents 🙂

img_87321
Here the group stands on Högklint, a giant cliff leaning out over the water. Visby is in the background.

IMG_8245
Gerd, my mom, strolling through Visby with Isak and Clara.

S8001416
Clara falling asleep in the botanical garden. This is a beautiful, peaceful place. When my parents were (almost) newlyweds they actually lived in Visby. My dad worked at the local newspaper, and my mom would often take Gil, my oldest sister, who was then a toddler, walking through this very same garden. So Gil, if you see this, that could be you in that stroller. 🙂

IMG_8256
Me and mom in one of the many Church ruins in Visby.

IMG_8366
Mom with Johannes and Isak.

IMG_8388
I think some have seen this already, but it’s a fun shot of my dad, Willy. I told him not to do jump, considering he is almost 80, and has a bad hip, a bad foot, a bad knee… Well, the good news is that he didn’t end up at the hospital. 😉

IMG_8472
Isak, dad, and Johannes at Langhammars.

IMG_8484
At some old viking graves.

IMG_8521
On the southern part of the island we visited some friends of my parents. This lady was very friendly, letting us pet her sheep. It looks like Clara is having tons of fun!

IMG_8528
Dad too…

IMG_8629
You can’t go to Gotland without looking at all the beautiful rocks. Here Isak is showing grandpa what he found.

IMG_8721
Dad is preparing for a talk at Church.

IMG_8735
Thanks, mom and dad, for a great visit! Love you much!
Louis

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Janita Nordli permalink
    September 20, 2009 20:28

    Herligere foreldre finnes vel ikke!! ikke bli fornærmet, men under deres turneringer ble vi utrolig glade i dem, de var som ekstra foreldre for oss! Hilse dem så masse fra jentene i Halden

  2. Lusche (Kemmethmueller) Groberg permalink
    September 19, 2009 06:47

    I met your mom while I was serving in Sweden (92-93). She is AMAZING! A little while ago, at a family gathering, my sister’s mother-in-law, Verlene Jones, asked about your mom. Her husband taught your family when he served in Sweden years ago. She would like to get in contact with her again. I told her I would try to find Gerd. This is the closest I have come to helping Verlene. Do you have an address or ph # that I could pass to Verlene? Thanks, Lusche.

  3. Katie permalink
    August 31, 2009 19:20

    These photos are great! I love the one of grandpa Willie jumping off the sand dune, it’s perfect!

  4. Valley Girl permalink
    August 21, 2009 05:37

    Åh, vilken underbar plats att gå på mission! Jag har aldrig hunnit besöka Gotland än, men självklart ska vi dit en dag! Det ser nästan tropiskt ut, det där skulle nästan kunna vara en grekisk ö eller nåt!? 🙂

  5. August 18, 2009 19:16

    HEJ LOUIS IT IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL STORY I, HAVE READ . AND THE PICTURES AS IS TAKEN WILL ALWAYS BE GOOD TO LOOK BACK ON SOMETIMES FOR YOUR FAMILY. GOD BLESS YOUR ALL HUGS FROM ME

  6. Belle permalink
    August 18, 2009 17:42

    Great story!!! It’s so nice to see the people who brought you up….
    They did an amazing job!!! They both so engergetic…
    I know jalousy isn’t nice, but I’m really jalous of your relationships with your parents, brothers and sisters….!!
    Take care of them….
    hugs,
    Belle

Leave a Reply

