Skip to content

Journey: After All These Years

March 19, 2009

This is a new song by Journey. The first time I heard it I was touched in several ways. First I was glad to see that old Journey magic come alive in this beautiful tune (another masterpiece by Jonathan Cain). But I was also struck – I mean literally – by the words (see below), seeing how they fit so well with my situation and the feelings I have for my wife. When watching this first video it didn’t take many seconds before the tears started to roll.

Tomorrow is Angelica’s birthday, and I would like to decicate this song to her, with all my heart. She knows the song well, and we have enjoyed listening to it together; this is “our” song now. I just want her to be sure that I truly am “proud of all the blessings [she] has given me”, and for all those years she stood by my side.

Happy birthday, my love.

Here is another version, live from Las Vegas. I actually think it’s almost better live. Arnel’s tender voice… wow!

A faded wedding photograph
You and me in our first dance
Our eyes are closed
We’re lost in one sweet embrace
Since those days the world has changed
But our love remains the same
God knows we’ve had our share of saving grace

And I’m proud of all the blessings
You have given me
The mountains we have climbed to get this far
You’ve learned to take the laughter with the tears
After all these years

You make it feel brand new
After the fires that we walked through
Against the odds we never lost our faith

In our house we’ve made our home
Where our children all have grown
Precious moments time cannot erase

Make a living up and down the gypsy highways
Seasons that we’ve had to share apart
Somehow in my heart I always keep you near me
After all these years

After all these years
You stood by me
The days and nights that I was gone
After all these years
You sacrificed, believed in me
And you stood strong
Cause with our love there’s nothing left to fear
After all these years

After all these years
You stood by me
The days and nights that I was gone
After all these years
You’ve sacrificed, believed in me
And you stood strong
Cause with our love there’s nothing left to fear
After all these years

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 23:26

    There are certain things only music can express. Being a musician myself, I thrive on music and the emotions it can either awaken or suppress. Music can both inspire and lift up in the most marvellous ways.

    The song by Journey is absolutely wonderful. It expresses how love can remain and grow over the years.

    Listening to After All These Years I was reminded of the song my wife and I have as “our” song. The song is called I Do, by Paul Brandt. I was unable to find a really good version of it on YouTube, although this one is okay.

    I’ve seen the storm clouds in your past
    But rest assured ’cause you are safe at home at last
    I rescued you, you rescued me
    And we’re right where we should be
    When we’re together

    I know the questions in your mind
    But go ahead and ask me one more time
    You’ll find the answer’s still the same
    It won’t change from day to day
    For worse or better

    Chorus:
    Will I promise to be your best friend
    And am I here until the end
    Can I be sure I have been waiting for you
    And did I say my love is true
    Baby I will, I am, I can, I have, I do

    I know the time will disappear
    But this love we’re building on will always be here
    No way that this is sinking sand
    On this solid rock we’ll stand
    Forever

    (Chorus)

    Baby I will, I am, I can, I have
    Oh, I will, I am, I can, I have
    Baby I will, I am, I can, I have, I do

    Happy Birthday to Angelica! May the two of you enjoy one another’s love through all eternity!

  2. March 19, 2009 22:20

    HEJ LOUIS FIRST I WILL SAY 1OOO THANK YOU FOR THIS BEAUTIFUL SONG/VIDEO . I UNDERSTAND YOU WHY YOU WILL DECICATE THIS SONG TO YOUR BEAUTIFUL WIFE. WHEN I SEE THE VIDEO I KNOW HOW MUCH I LOVE MY BOYFRIEND, THE 19 NOVEMBER WE HAVE CAME TOGETHER FOR 7 YEARS AND THE 24 DECEMBER WE HAVE BEEN ENGAGEMENT FOR 7 YEARS. HAVE A BEAUTIFUL DAY TOMORROW AND GRATTIS/HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU ANGELICA FROM A HERRY FAN, AND HUGS TO YOU LOUIS MY FRIEND FROM ME LENE MARIE

  3. Ann Holbrook permalink
    March 19, 2009 13:42

    What a song! I listened to it with my husband this morning and we both loved it. We have been married over 16 years and have seen the ups and downs together so this song hits it all well. AND.. of course we already love Journey. We are going to buy that song.

  4. Eva-Marie permalink
    March 19, 2009 11:42

    Åh, vad vackert!
    Den 11 juni har jag och min man 15 årig bröllops dag, jag ska dela denna låten med honom då.
    Tack Louis!

    Kram Eva-Marie

Leave a Reply

