Skip to content

Journey: Faithfully

March 16, 2009

There’s going to be a whole lot of music coming up on this site now, music that have been an inspiration to me in one way or another. First out is the greatest rock ballard ever made, by the greatest rock band that ever existed: Journey. Listen to the beautiful lyrics of this song, performed by Steve Perry – whose vocal skill is simply amazing. My deepest respect goes out to keyboardist Jonathan Cain who wrote this song. It is a story about living on the road, but missing your loved one back home.

Here is the first version (with better sound than the second), with lyrics and mixed photos, old and new.

Here’s a longer clip with (1) Steve Perry version video and (2) Arnel Pineda Live in concert.

Lyrics

Highway run into the midnight sun
Wheels go round and round, you’re on my mind
Restless hearts sleep alone tonight
Sendin all my love along the wire

They say that the road ain’t no place to start a family
Right down the line it’s been you and me
And lovin’ a music man ain’t always what it’s supposed to be
Oh, girl you stand by me
I’m forever yours – faithfully

Circus life under the big top world
We all need the clowns to make us smile
Through space and time, always another show
Wondering where I am lost without you

And being apart ain’t easy on this love affair
Two strangers learn to fall in love again
I get the joy of rediscovering you
Oh, girl you stand by me
I’m forever yours – faithfully

Oh, oh, oh, oh
Faithfully, I’m still yours
I’m forever yours
Ever yours – faithfully

My Journey page

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lena Hagen permalink
    March 18, 2009 23:02

    En herlig låt! Har alltid tenkt Steve Perry når jeg har hørt om Journey, men jeg må innrømme at jeg likte versjonen med Arnell veldig godt. Det blir likevel urettferdig å sammenligne disse to, fordi de er ganske forskjellige. Takk for god musikk🙂

  2. March 17, 2009 15:45

    I’ve heard the song before. But.. there is a difference between hearing and listening. Thanks for making me really listen. It’s beautiful, in every way.

  3. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    March 17, 2009 15:36

    I must admit that I am not familiar with this song, or the band, or either of the singers who sang the song. The lyrics were certainly very beautiful and moving, and both of the singers had good voices. But I must admit that the music itself was not something that I would personally find instantly memorable.

  4. March 17, 2009 10:24

    Concerning Perry’s voice I completely agree. But… I would never say that Arnel’s position in the band is a joke, for two reasons. 1) The band members themselves certainly don’t feel that way; they love Arnel for his talent as well for his good nature. 2) Arnel is in the minds of most people a fantastic singer, including myself. Sure, he is not Steve Perry, but who said he has to be.

    So let us not have this old, tedious debate about who’s the best singer for Journey. Let’s just be grateful that they HAVE a great singer (never mind how old he is) who does his best to uphold the legacy sound of Journey.

    As a final note, it’s not fair to compare the sound from a Steve Perry studio recording with the live voice of Arnel. It just happened that I had to pick that particular Youtube video, cause it was the only one that could play the Faithfully video in my country (Sweden).

  5. Betsy permalink
    March 17, 2009 02:54

    It’s so helpful to see/hear these various versions. Arnel Pineda is such a poser, such a emotionally WEAK performance (often letting the audience fill in the words). His voice is not nearly as powerful or as fluid as Perry’s. Unlike Steve, who emoted & truly FELT those words (lived the song) re: his family and girlfriend, Arnel is just mimicking or aping it. You can’t be considered good, unless you put your heart & soul into the performance & you BELIEVE the lyrics, or find a truth with them.

    It is truly JARRING to see what “looks” like a 15 year old (Arnel) with guys, who must be between 50-60. It does them… NO favors.
    What a JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. March 17, 2009 00:14

    HEJ LOUIS,FIRST I WILL SAY 1OOO THANK YOU FOR SHARING THE MUSIC VIDEO , IT IS A BEAUTIFUL SONG ,I HAVE NEVER HEAR IT BEFORE .BUT I CAN ONLY SAY THAT I LOVE THAT SONG ,AND YOU KNOW HOW TO HIT ME AND MAKE ME CRYING WITH GOOD SONGS HUGS FORM ME TO YOU YOUR FRIEND LENE MARIE

  7. Liselotte permalink
    March 16, 2009 20:11

    Kind of odd to visit your blog and find this beautiful song just after having spoken to my hubby on Skype. He’s in Oman at the moment – staying there for another 4-6 weeks(he’s posted there for his work).

    So “Sendin all my love along the wire” hit home here in my heart :o)

    Thanks for sharing this song!

    Hugs
    Liselotte

  8. Malin permalink
    March 16, 2009 18:14

    Vilken underbar sång… Har aldrig hört den förut, men den blir absolut en favorit. Tack för att du delar med dig!

    Jag har också sånger jag har särskilt nära hjärtat. Här finns en av dem…

    http://lenakajsa.blogg.se/2007/may/sa-rorande.html

    Malin

Leave a Reply

