Skip to content

Winter at last

February 24, 2009
tags: ,

We had a little snow in the beginning of December, but basically it’s been a gray and wet winter here in Södertälje. But while everyone seems to long for summer, I have been longing for a real winter – with snow in abundance. And what do you know, Sunday night it came. The whole family was going nuts with joy, and of course we spent much of the evening outside, playing in the snow.

After I had put the children to bed I told Angelica I wanted to go out again for a walk and take some photos. “I’ll just be 20 minutes,” I said. Three hours later, at midnight, I came back. I couldn’t help myself. It was such a magical evening.

img_2912-2

Here’s the bus stop (with a bus on the roll) outside our home. Look how everything looks beautiful in snow-white.

img_2956

Everything is beautiful dressed in snow, the trees and branches…

img_2966

…even the cars.

img_2867-3

A lot of the time was actually spent inside this forest, where it was just too dark for photos. But it was a magical experience walking alone among mounds of snow and tight clusters of trees. (Maybe I’ll expand on that another time.)

img_2851-21

Here I am walking home. Only one car passed me. You can see it’s tail light.

img_2937-2

Almost home. Another bus, the last one of the day rolls in…

img_2915-2-2

…and rolls out.

Be happy. L

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anita permalink
    March 19, 2009 10:27

    Hey Louis.

    Flotte foto. De er noget unikke.

    De er gode til baggrunds billede til computeren. *S*
    Jeg vil ønske dig og din familie et godt forår.
    Og tillykke med konen.
    Kærlig hilsen
    Anita

  2. March 2, 2009 07:20

    Louis, Great photos as always. When we go to Sweden (whenever that happens) we’ll bring our gear and we’ll have to do a landscape shoot together. Yours are fantastic. More than a few of the hits on your blog are from Katie and I looking at your pictures and reading your posts; particularly the ones written in english. Hope all is well.
    – Aaron

  3. Andrei's random2pixels.wordpress.com permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:28

    It’s been a long and grey winter here where I live. At least there in Sweden winter managed to put up a nice show at the end🙂

  4. Sandie permalink
    February 25, 2009 20:17

    Igår var jag så deprimerad.
    Så less på denna vinter…
    Imorse,innan jag gick iväg på ett möte,
    kollade jag om du skrivit något o såg dessa bilder.(du borde ha en fotoutställning…)
    Alltså,det ÄR vackert!
    Bara om man ser sig omkring.
    Jag glömmer det ibland.
    När jag är på väg till mötet,hörde jag fåglarna kvittra o
    solen värmde.
    Och jag gav en person jag inte kände,
    ett leende.Och jag fick ett tillbaka.
    Ja,jag ville egentligen bara säga tack…!

  5. Belle permalink
    February 25, 2009 08:54

    Really beautiful!!!wow…

    To be honest…I’m not so found of snow…
    I love watching it, but if I have to come outside…😦

    Belgium is not a “snow” friendly country. Trafic is turning into a disaster, Belgians are not use to drive in snow, so everybody drives ad a speed of 30km/h…GRRRRRRR.
    So, when we see 2 snowflakes…national alarm goes off…haha.

    I’m really looking forward to the spring…
    I’m counting….:-)

  6. February 25, 2009 00:32

    HEJ LOUIS ,FIRST I WILL SAY THANK YOU FOR THE 8 BEAUTIFUL WINTER PICTURES /PHOTOS FROM YOUR HOME WHERE YOU LIVE.SATURDAY THE 21 FEBRUARY WE GOT A LOT OF SNOW HERE WHERE I LIVE AND THE CHILDREN ENJOYED IT BUT THE NEXT DAY THE SNOW WAS GONE . WE HAVE NOT SNOW IN DECEMBER HERE IN DENMARK (2008). I HOPE THAT YOU SLEEP GOOD THAT NIGHT AFTER HAVE BEEN OUT IN 3 HOURS , AND YOU HAVE RIGHT THE IS SOME MAGICAL OVER THE EVENING PICTURES /PHOTOS . I LOVE THEM THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THEM . I HOPE THAT WE WILL GET SPRING SOON AND SUMMER TOO . HUGS FROM ME YOUR FRIEND IN HOBRO .

Leave a Reply

