Skip to content

Dad Becomes Mom

September 24, 2008

Family Column for Länstidningen, Södertälje, Sweden, 24 Sept 2008.
Automatic translation of text

PAPPA BLIR MAMMA

Jag vaknar med en fot i ansiktet. Sedan hörs ett fniss. Fortfarande i dvala känner jag hur en liten kropp snurrar runt och landar på min mage. En andedräkt, varm från gammal välling, sköljer över mitt ansikte. När jag tvingar upp mina ögonlock möts jag av två intensiva men glada ögon som stirrar in i mina.

”Clara gå ut!” säger hon bestämt.

Jag suckar och tittar på klockan. Den visar halv sex. Jag är precis på väg att fråga min två-åring var mamma är, men då minns jag: hon är ju i New York. Men Clara hade inte hört frågan ändå för hon var redan halvvägs ner för trappan. När jag på trötta ben kommer ner står hon i hallen redo att gå ut – med pyjamas och ”stölvar”.

Det är ju så gulligt att man nästan dör, men jag kan ändå inte undgå att fundera: Kommer jag klara av den här veckan som mamma? Å andra sidan, tänker jag, hur svårt kan det vara? Jag är ju van att vara mycket med barnen. Det är bara att köra på!

Och köra på, det är precis vad jag gör. Jag lagar mat, städar, diskar, tvättar, plockar upp från golvet, handlar mat, byter blöjor, hjälper med läxor och plockar upp ännu mer från golvet. (Jag förstår inte hur allt hamnar där hela tiden.)

Men roligt försöker vi ha också. Vi bakar, går till kyrkis, åker på träningar och läser sagor. Fast det bästa var nog när jag fick med mig alla tre barnen till matchen Assyriska-Örgryte. Förlåt alla södertäljebor, men jag kommer från Göteborg och är en inbiten öisare. Jag hade därför inget att klaga på när mitt lag nätade bollen till 0-1.

Varje kväll när jag lägger barnen – som jag inte alls lyckas få i säng lika tidigt som Angelica – är jag dock helt slut i kroppen. Men då måste jag passa på att komma ikapp lite i mitt arbete. När jag sedan kommer sent i säng dröjer det inte många timmar förrän den där foten träffar mig i ansiktet igen. Och så börjar vi om. Och inte hjälper det att en av sönerna blir magsjuk helt plötsligt.

Jag har hört många mammor säga att de inte känner att de räcker till. Jag tror jag förstår dem bättre nu. Alla mammor, gifta som ensamstående, borde få medaljer för det arbete som de gör. Jag struntar i vilka politiska vindar som blåser: mammarollen har i alla tider varit det mest hedersamma arbete som finns, kanske just för att det är det svåraste, men definitivt för att det är det mest betydelsefulla. Låt ingen lura dig att tro något annat.

Men jag kände också en annan sanning trycka på ju längre veckan led: att det är meningen att man ska vara två. Jag är visserligen trygg i min papparoll, men precis som min fru inte kan överta min roll, så kan inte heller jag ersätta henne. Pappa och mamma kompletterar varandra. Så enkelt är det. Det märkte jag inte minst på våra barn, då de stundtals bara ville få tröst av mammas närvaro och ömma hand.

Så var vi glada att se mamma igen? O, ja. Och jag kan få återgå till att vara pappa – förhoppningsvis en bättre sådan, nu när jag mer uppskattar hur det är att vara mamma.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Lena Hagen permalink
    September 26, 2008 22:28

    Dette var godt skrevet Louis! Veldig rart å lese en manns skildring av vår mamma-hverdag. Helt enig med deg, det bør absolutt være både en mamma og en pappa i en familie. Ingen enkel sak å være både mamma og pappa hele tiden, ikke minst trenger man som voksen en annen voksen å kunne støtte seg på. Selvsagt trenger et barn også en pappa eller i det minste en mann i familien. Det vil jo alltid være forskjell på kjønnene, selv om likestillingen har kommet langt.

    Jeg er i alle fall veldig takknemlig for at min lille datter har min bror og min søster’s mann som kan gi henne den mannlige påvirkningen, og som kan gjøre alt det en kjedelig og sliten mamma ikke orker🙂

  2. Lene Klamer permalink
    September 26, 2008 15:30

    He is doing fine today, just tired… Last evening he had fever (39celcious) We just got back from the hospital an hour ago, we had an appointment with the doc, she wanted some last bloodtests and to check if he was ok:-) He is:-) Tuesday we have the last appointment, to get all the answers on the bloodtests. Hopefully there is nothing wrong!
    They have really examined him for all kinds of strange things, to make sure he didn´t have any serious illnesses.
    ~Lene

  3. September 26, 2008 14:40

    Hope little Max is doing well now?

  4. Lene Klamer permalink
    September 25, 2008 14:52

    I just got home today from the hospital with my little boy, we have been there for 2 days… We went to see the doc the other day, because Max had a terrible headache and was very weak, when the doc saw him, he said he is going to the hospital…
    They took a lot of bloodsamples and a sample from the spinalfluid… My little boy was crying his eyes out!
    I was all alone there, to comfort Max and his big sister, who was also very sad to see her brother lie there weak in bed. The children´s father lives in another part of the country… But he came over later in the evening, and even though he is my ex husband, it was a big relief he got there! We were 2 to take care of Max and we could comfort eachother when needed… He left yesterday early and then I was alone again, but I was OK with it… In everyday life I am alone with my kids and yes it is hard! But also very rewarding:-)
    I am my kids rock and safe island and I am proud to be:-) But sometimes I wish there was someone to assist me… I am very lucky to have a very good support in the children´s grandparents(dad´s parents) and they often take the children in weekends and if I am going to Sweden to see my idols perform;-)
    I don´t know if all this makes sence… I am tired and have 100 things on my mind right now…

  5. September 24, 2008 22:21

    HEJ LOUIS MY FRIEND WHEN I READ (DAD BECOMES MOM) THIS MORNING,BEFORE I GET ON WORK I SAY TO MYSELF WHAT A BEAUTIFUL AND NICE STORY WRITE OF YOU WHEN YOU WAS ALONE HOME WITH YOUR BEAUTIFUL CHILDREN, I AM GLAD TO HEAR THAT YOUR WIFE IS HOME AGAIN SO NOW YOU SHALL NOT SLEEP ALONE MY FRIEND. WHEN I READ THAT ONE OF YOUR SONS GET MAGSJUK, I SAID OH NO NOT THAT IT IS NOT FUNNY JUST ASK ME MY FRIEND. I SMILE WHEN I READ THAT YOUR DAUGTHER WAKE YOU AT SEKS A CLOCK IN THE MORNING WHIT A FOT IN YOUR FACE. I WILL GIVE YOU 13 FOR AT HAVE KLARET A WEEK ALONE WITH YOUR CHILDREN WHEN YOUR WIFE WAS IN NEW YORK . MY WARMEST REGARDS TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY FROM YOUR FRIEND LENE MARIE

  6. Malin permalink
    September 24, 2008 17:06

    Yes, det var jag det… på fotosidan alltså. Tack för kommentaren där. Det är roligt att du uppskattar mina bilder!

    /Malin

  7. September 24, 2008 16:41

    Karin, I certainly don’t see your words as criticism. On the contrary, I appreciated hearing your story, and I knew you understood where I was coming from. All is well!🙂

    Malin, tack också för din “berättelse”. Jag uppskattar också dina vänliga ord. Är du den Malin som stötte på mig på Fotosidan.se? I så fall, jag gillar verkligen dina bilder

  8. Malin permalink
    September 24, 2008 16:18

    Oj, vad glad jag är att jag hittade hit til din sida. (och även till fotosidan) Du skriver så underfundigt och träffsäkert om familj, andlighet, mammor och pappor och livet i allmänhet. Underbar läsning!

    Till faktumet att barn behöver både en mamma och en pappa (Våra barn har två , även om en uppsättning inte fysiskt finns med i deras liv. De är nämligen adopterade.) Visst är det så att våra barn behöver oss båda. Ingen ska ta våra rolelr ifrån oss! Bevisligen är ju män och kvinnor olika på mer än ett sätt!😉

    Jag talar inte emot ett jämställt samhälle, men i debatten går det ibland till överdrift. Jag kan komma på mig själv emd att bli rädd när man i strävan pekar på bilden av den mest jämställda familjen med totalt omkastade rollerna bara för sakens skull. Är det mer jämställt i familjen för att mamma meckar med bilen och pappa bakar bullar? Nej, inte enligt mig.

    I vår familj är det jag som sköter de tekniska prylarna och klädinköp och tvät t.e.x medan mannen syr gardiner, lagar kläder och fixar bil och trädgård. Jag tror vi är som folk är mest. Vi sköter det vi är bra på – och vi HJÄLPS ÅT. Vi lever i ett lyckligt förhållande där vi i kärlek hjälps åt, men vi har olika roller. Det är jag glad för, så att jag slipper laga bilen, för det hade inte blivit något vidare…😉

    Tack för ett tänkvärt inlägg!

  9. Karin permalink
    September 24, 2008 12:31

    Dear Louis

    Thanks for your response.
    Please do not see it as difficult to write about your family,I did understand the meaning of your words.
    I agree with you that a father and a mother are important for a family,I meant that I can see that almost every day.
    But as I said, sometimes you can not help it if it is not.(like you wrote, an unwanted situation)

    I love to read the stories of your family and for example of life’s adventures.

    For a while my life was like a bad dream, I think you can imagine that but my kids have shown me how beautiful life can be.
    Again, I have my letter not intended as criticism, I enjoy your stories too much!

    Warmest regards to you and your family,
    Karin

  10. September 24, 2008 10:14

    Dear Karin,

    I am very sorry for your family’s loss of husband and father. I can only begin to understand how hard it must have been. But I’m glad to hear of the support you’re getting from close loved ones. And I can only wish you and your children God’s choicest blessing, despite of what happened.

    Even though I write about family a lot, I always find it a bit tricky. On the one hand I believe it’s right to uphold a positive view of the traditional family (like in the text: the need for mothers and father who complement each other). On the other hand I know of many people who disagree with that, or like yourself have found herself in an different, unwanted situation, with no fault of your own.

    With this in mind I have still decided that I cannot do otherwise than write what I feel to be good and true – anything else would be dishonest – and then hope the reader will understand the spirit and intent of the words rather than take offense (again in the text, for example: yes, father and mother are important for a family – that’s the principle – but it doesn’t mean that those who live other lives are bad people or are doing it the wrong way. As you know, life can sometimes deal cards we don’t want to receive)

    Another thing, when writing a column like this I have to, for practical purposes, keep it pretty short. Naturally, there are also additional thoughts that lie behind the text. One of those thoughts I discussed with my wife: how much I admire single mothers. I just have a hard time imagining how it’s done? I especially admire mothers who dreamed of doing everything the right way, but still ended up getting the wrong dream. I think you must be one of those mothers. Not that your life has been a bad dream – because I sense you’ve been a great parent and have had lots of joy in your children, as they must surely have had in you as well – but it just didn’t turn out they way you planned.

    But all I can say is don’t give up your dream – whatever it may be be for you now – and despite how hard it may be, don’t loose faith. I know it’s easy to say, but still: faith nurtures hope, and without hope we cannot live; we might survive, but we cannot TRUELY live.

    Warmest regards to you and your family,
    Louis

  11. Karin permalink
    September 24, 2008 08:32

    Hi Louis

    Glad your family is compleet again and that Angelica is back home.
    You wrote about the difficult role for both father and mother and that they both belong in order to make it complete.

    These are beautiful words and so it should be, but unfortunately sometimes the truth is otherwise.
    I’ve always been the father and the mother of my children because my husband deceased at very young age.
    My oldest son was two years old and the youngest son seven months.
    A very large loss, even for the children (now they are 19 and 17 years) they have never known there father.

    Fortunately, I have very dear parents and parents in law who occasionally take care of my children for a week when I was asked on winter vacation with friends.
    Like Angelica has now done, as time for yourself, that sometimes we all need.
    I’m not complaining, I have wonderful children and had no choice to only be a mother.

    I hope the English is good translated because I have the google translated on and knows that Swedish-Dutch is not in good sentences translated

    Have a nice day
    Karin

Trackbacks

  1. Dad Becomes Mom | Mormonlady & Friends

Leave a Reply

