Skip to content

The Deer Haven

July 19, 2008

We have not had good summer weather in Sweden this year. So I tried to catch a warm, summer spirit by looking at some photos from when it was really nice and hot. I found these ones. They are actually from the end of May – so far the nicest part of the whole “summer”. One Saturday we took a walk in a huge park, kind of like a nature reserve, called Hjorthagen (The Deer Haven). It’s in Mariefred, close to where we live. A beautiful place.

Have you thought about how clouds often add a bit of drama to a photo?

It’s snowing from the tree!

And under the next tree some deer are hiding from the sun… and me.

Johannes looked up in the sky – as he always does – and saw this plane. He took the picture as well.

Some more beautiful trees.

… with more deer hiding underneath.

The youngest ones walking through a field of dandelions.

aaaahhh….

Down by the water. Clara always uses my head as a drum. (It sounds really good too – cause it’s so hollow😉 )

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    July 21, 2008 21:32

    To make a joke, I´ll say that Sweden has only to seasons: warm rain season and cold rain season. To speak the truth: I love this country passionatly, the different landscapes from north to south, the trees, the flowers, etc.

  2. Karin permalink
    July 21, 2008 10:53

    Nice photo’s!

    We’re not having much good summer weather here in Holland too.
    I hope the weater in Sweden wil be better soon!
    This weekend we are going to Sweden for 3 weeks vacation:-))

  3. Belle permalink
    July 21, 2008 10:34

    To Everyone….

    EVERYBODY HAPPY AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Case closed🙂😉

    Belle

  4. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    July 21, 2008 09:39

    I’m sorry if my above comment seemed to indicate that offence may have been caused by an earlier post. That certainly wasn’t my intention – it was all meant in good humour and fun! Just wanted to re-assure Belle that absolutely no offence was taken to any of her earlier comments – certainly not by me, and I’m sure, not by anyone else here. I think we all enjoy making fun jokes about the opposite sex from time to time (and sometimes a lot!), and I really enjoyed Belle’s joke too. So please don’t let my comments put you off making more such contributions!

    As to Louis’ comment about Sweden not having much “good Summer weather” as yet – where I’m from, I think we get a little too much of that “good Summer weather”! Sometimes I would just love to be able to swap some of our “surplus Summer weather” for some “good Winter weather”. But not today though – as it is Winter, and minus 2 degrees, so I am just enjoying the “cool change”!

    Regards, Jan B.

  5. Belle permalink
    July 21, 2008 00:54

    Dear Linda and Louis,

    No more “jokes” for me! I promise😉

    But about the beautiful pictures above…Louis, your daughter uses your head as a drum, my son Lucas (3 years old) holds himself so tight that all my wrinkles has disappeared. Talking about a natural face-lift.
    Johannes seems to have the same gift as his father…great photographer!!!
    Next year we are planning a trip to Sweden and Norway, I hope to visit this park too…

  6. July 20, 2008 23:25

    HEJ LOUIS. THANK YOU FOR THE BEAUTIFUL PICTURES FROM DEER HEAVEN, THEY ARE SO NICE,I LOVE THE PICTURE OF YOUR BEAUTIFUL CHILDREN AND THE LAST ON WHERE CLARA IS SITTING ON YOUR SHOULDER.HERE IN DENMARK WE HAVE NOT HAD GOOD SUMMER WEATHER TOO, WE HAVE GOT LOTS OF RAIN THE LAST DAYS . HUGS FROM YOUR FRIEND LENE MARIE HØGH

  7. July 20, 2008 21:02

    Belle,
    Before this is taken out of proportion, I just want to say that your joke was good. I have used it many times before – in behalf of women. Nothing I wrote in this post had any connection to your words… so don’t worry, be happy🙂

  8. July 20, 2008 18:00

    Belle; I’m sure everyone understands what you wrote was nothing but a harmless joke. I understand your feelings though, making jokes about others is a matter of finding the right balance between what’s fun and what might be offensive, something that can be a challenge!

    We can joke about the difference between the male and female brain or personality, but in the end I believe we are not all that different. It’s a simplified truth that men are always that simple, and women always that complicated. First of all we are individuals with our own unique personality, and putting a little effort into listening to each other, it shouldn’t be that hard to accomplish good communication between man and woman.

    And Louis; nice pictures from an idyllic place, the ones showing your kids are so sweet! When the weather fails to live up to our expectations, there’s only one thing to do – focus on the sunny days🙂

  9. Belle permalink
    July 20, 2008 13:01

    Dear Louis,

    Appearently my “little joke” wasn’t that funny as I had hoped. Your comment on that last picture, and the comment number 2…
    I’m very sorry if I hurt someones feelings, that was not my intention. I just thought “if Louis can make jokes about being a woman, I can make a joke about being a man”.
    I appolagize to everyone who was shocked by reading the joke.
    This is the second time I offer my appolagies on your site…perhaps I should consider not to give comments anymore. Maybe they is a huge difference between our countries in habbits…I don’t know…
    Anyway, great pictures…and sorry “again” I really, really …didn’t mean to offend you!

    Belle

  10. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    July 20, 2008 12:14

    Some nice photos there – I particularly liked the ones of the children in the field, as well as the caption beneath the last photo. Perhaps it was a reference to a comment someone made on your last post?! Hope you’re not feeling too “hard done by”!

  11. Lena Hagen permalink
    July 19, 2008 23:53

    Kjempefine bilder! De får meg til å tenke på tv-serien “Lille huset på prærien”, vet egentlig ikke helt hvorfor men🙂

Leave a Reply

