Skip to content

Go Sweden! (3)

June 19, 2008

Or should we write “Go Home Sweden”? This was the last appearance of the nordic vikings in Euro2008. I’m sure our guys did all they could, but tonight Russia was far ahead of them, and won fair and square with 2-0 (and it could have been worse). My father, Willy, came for a visit, and together we did all we could to cheer on our “blue-yellow”, but… maybe they couldn’t hear us so well.

So now what? Shall we lay down and die? No, we still keep our shirts on, happy for an amazing experience, thanking all our talented players, proud (in a good way) to still be Swedes, and now we will cheer on some of the other fantastic teams. As for myself, I’m keeping my fingers crossed for Holland. If they keep playing like before they will sweep the floor with all opponents all the way through the finals. But. I liked how Russia played today. Maybe the Russian bear will give Holland a good fight after all in the quarter final. So this football championship is still very much alive, even though Sweden is knocked out. But like they say: “It was fun while it lasted.”

Still a swedeheart…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    June 23, 2008 09:34

    What a lovely photo of the children with their grandfather! Looks like they certainly had plenty of fun barracking for Sweden. I was sorry to hear that Sweden had been knocked out of the competition by Russia – but hope you’ll all find another team to support for the remainder of the competition (perhaps a team other than Russia, since they were responsible for Sweden’s demise!). Holland/the Netherlands are playing very well at present, and have some great players. It is almost reminiscent of the Dutch “glory days” of Johan Cruyff. I was hoping they would win against Russia, but unfortunately they lost.

    In the Spain versus Italy match I was cheering for Spain. Couldn’t possibly bring myself to support Italy – not after what they did to my country’s team at the last World Cup! Guess that won’t make me too popular with a lot of my countrymen – since a considerable number of them have Italian backgrounds!

  2. June 20, 2008 20:55

    Ja nå har visst Portugal røket ut også,så…. Heia Holland🙂

  3. June 19, 2008 23:16

    Hei!
    Synd at Sverige tapte i går….men Russland spillte så mye mye bedre😦
    Nå når dere har røket ut holder jeg en knapp på Holland eller Portugal videre i EM🙂

    Enig med de andre….Willy holder seg veldig godt! Det var veldig koselig å se bilde av ham igjen🙂

  4. June 19, 2008 22:43

    DEAR LOUIS I CAN ONLY BE AGREE WITH BELLE THAT YOUR FATHER IS LOOKING VERY GOOD AND BEAUTIFULD OUT. I REMEMBER TOO HOW YOUR FATHER WAS JUMPING UP AND DOWN WHEN YOU,AND YOUR BROTHER WON THE EUROVISION SONGCONTEST 1984.MY FATHER(ADOPT)IS 74 YEARS OLD AND MY MOTHER(ADOPT)WILL BE 74 YEARS OLD THE 14 NOVEMBER. STILL I AM SO SORRY,THAT SWEDEN LOOSE THE GAME YESTERDAY .HUGS FROM ME LENE MARIE

  5. Mia permalink
    June 19, 2008 21:07

    Hi!!!
    well it is awsome when kids have fun with grandparents.
    any it is nice too see willy again on your website
    that was along time ago, say hi from me,🙂

  6. June 19, 2008 21:05

    A “swedeheart” – what a sweet word!:)

  7. Petra M-L permalink
    June 19, 2008 20:10

    Hi,
    Belle has already said what I wanted to say: Your dad looks great – and not just for his age!

    It is awesome when kids get to have fun with their grandparents and vice versa. My own grandpa (morfar) passed along to the other side of the veil when I was nine; however he is still with me! I perceive it now and then, so it’s not just something I say… Same with grandma (farmor)! Trust me on this: a grandparent’s love for their grandchildren will go on Forever…

  8. June 19, 2008 19:48

    You’re almost right. He’s 78. I’ll have him read what you wrote. I’m sure he will be pleased🙂

  9. Belle permalink
    June 19, 2008 18:28

    I’m so so so sorry…I watched the game yesterday.
    Wow, your father is still looking very good. Isn’t he around 80 years old now?? (don’t beat me to dead if I’m totally wrong about his age :-)) But I still remember him jumping up when you won the Eurovision songcontest…

    Belle

  10. June 19, 2008 05:13

    GODMORNING LOUIS.IT WAS SO HARD TO SEE SWEDEN LOSE,WHEN THE STUD 2-0 RUSSIA.OF COURSE SWEDEN DO ALL THEY COULD BUT RUSSIA WAS STRONGER TONIGHT. PERHAPS YOU AND YOUR FATHER AND CHILDREN SHOULD HAVE CHEER HIGHER. I HOPE THAT RUSSIA WIND OVER HOLLAND EVEN IAM NOT A FOOTBALL FAN. THANK YOU FOR THE NICE AND BEAUTIFUL PICTURES OF YOUR FATHER AND CHILDREN, WHEN I SEE THE PICTURES I FEEL I CAN HEAR HOW YOU ALL CHEER ON SWEDEN. MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY HUGS FROM ME LENE MARIE HØGH

Leave a Reply

