Skip to content

Sebastian and Eva Married

May 24, 2008

My nephew Sebastian Herrey (Per’s son) was married yesterday to his Eva. I can’t believe it! I remember it like it was yesterday when Sebastian was born. To see him grow up has been a great experience, from boyhood to manhood. I’ve grown to love and admire him a lot. And Eva is such a pleasant and beautiful person too. It was a happy occasion indeed. What a beautiful couple! They had a great photographer in place, but you know me… I just had to take just a few shots of my own.


They were married in the Copenhagen Tempel (closest to where they live). Although not a requirement for couples in the LDS Church to marry in a tempel, most choose to do so. For us, it’s a place of sacred worship and special ordinances, one of wish is eternal marriage, as we call it. It means that a husband and wife are “sealed” to each other for time and eternity, and not only ” ’til death do you part”. Looking at the photo above, it feels like forever doesn’t it?


This is actually my own favorite. I just love the “moment” of the couple and their mothers.

Below are are a few more photos, mostly in black and white. (Sorry, some doubles popped up)
Warmest wishes to the bride and groom, from uncle Louis

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 06:23

    Hellow!

    I love your site, It is a pleasure to visit.

    I have added your site to my site.

    Thank you!

    お幸せに!すばらしい!お似合いのカップルですね!

  2. Sarah Charland permalink
    April 30, 2010 16:00

    I am so happy for Sebastian and Eva!! Congratulations!! Marriage is a sacred thing in the Temple, my goal is to someday be married in the Temple. I was baptized on November 20th, 2009, and have been to the Temple 2 times, it is a beautiful and sacred place, theses photos are inspiring and remind me of what true love is like. I hope to someday be married to my true love in the Temple for time and all eternity as well.
    With Sisterly love,
    Sarah🙂

  3. October 26, 2008 23:02

    The pictures are beautiful. There is something that I must say, in your post you wrote;

    ‘Although not a requirement for couples in the LDS Church to marry in a tempel, most choose to do so.’

    This may give the impression that temple marriage is not greatly important when in fact it is very much and every couple in the church is encouraged to live worthy to be married in the temple and to qaulify through their efforts and works the highest blessings eternaly, those blessings may be manifest in this life as well as the next.

    The lord stated If we love him, that we keep his commandments.

    To also help answer Anne’s question- a couple being married in the temple have both devoted themselves to keep God’s covenants always and working together to do this, turning their lives to doing the lords will, living clean good lives- when neccessary repenting (acknowledging faults and sincerely trying to do better when they realise their is a better way) they qaulify to receive the greatest blessings that are of God. If they both have a true heart desire and effort to do this they would both surely then reach the same great rewards and ‘place’.

    I hope that helps. I used to worry about things and not quite understand it myself untill one day it just clicked.. there are many levels of happyness. Through knowing the Lord and living close following his way he will grant such insights of wonder and love that might only be known through him.. this also takes faith!

  4. Parley Norseth permalink
    September 17, 2008 02:34

    Congrats to the Young Couple! Give my regards to Per and family.

  5. Anna permalink
    May 27, 2008 15:40

    I´m afraid I´m a bit confused about the “eternel marriage” thing, maybe you can explain. Doesn´t LDS believe that there are a number of places you can come to in the afterlife? How do you know that husband and wife will come to the same place? ´Cause if they come to different places for eternity, how does it help that they are married, if they are not together anyway?

  6. Mia permalink
    May 26, 2008 14:11

    Hi Louis!!!
    great pictures, I remeber when sebastian was born, too🙂

    thanks for giving me Eva lils e mail,
    hugs from, Mia

  7. Angie permalink
    May 26, 2008 08:27

    Oh, I’m getting old… I remember when Sebastian was born too… =)

    Great pictures again!!

    Hug,

    Angie

  8. Anna permalink
    May 25, 2008 14:48

    I hope that you will not misunderstand me now, I´m sure that marrying in the temple is a very special thing for you. And I understand that you see the marriage as something that lasts longer (forever instead of til death do us part) than “ordinary marriages”. Still… When you fall in love and you choose to spend your life together, does anyone think that if you meet again in the afterlife, that all your feelings for each other will be gone? Will you not meet as the ones you where, with the memories that you have after a life together? The difference is, I think, not in feelings and relationships, but “legal”. If I would die today, I would want my husband to remarry and live a full life with someone else. But my love for him would not die with me.

  9. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    May 25, 2008 11:17

    You took some great photos, Louis. Sebastian and Eva certainly are a very handsome-looking couple. I wish them all the very best in their future life together.

  10. May 24, 2008 21:03

    Hi Louis

    A beautiful couple and lovely photos.
    I have never heard the expression “eternal marriage” until now, yet it occurs to me that this is what I have always believed in; true love goes beyond death. I wish the newlyweds all the best, eternally.

    Linda

  11. May 24, 2008 18:33

    DEAR LOUIS MY FRIEND.THANK YOU FOR THE BEAUTIFUL ARTICLE ABOUT YOUR, NEPHEWS WEDDING. I LOVE THE PICTURES, WHEN I LOOK ON THE PICTURE NR 12, I CAN SEE THAT SEBASTIAN HAS HIS, FATHERS LOOK.I CANT BELIVE THAT HE IS A VOKSEN MAND NOW. WHEN I LOOK IN MY MAPPE WHERE I HAVE PICTURES OF , YOU AND YOUR BROTHERS, I HAVE A PICTURES WHERE YOUR BROTHER IS SITTING WITH SEBASTIAN ON 5 YEAR AND JOEL ON 3 YEAR AND EVA LINDA WITH BENJAMIN ON 5 MÅNDER. TIME IS RUNNING SO FAST AND CHILDREN ARE GROWING UP VERY FAST . BEFORE OR LATER WILL YOUR CHILDREN CAME HOME AND SAY HI DAD. HERE IS YOUR DAUGTHER IN LAW.I WILL SAY THAT YOUR BROTHERS (PER OCH RICHARD )ARE LUCKY THAT THEY HAVE,A LITTEL BROTHER AS IS SO A GOOD PHOTOGRAPHER. I WILL SAY CONGRATULATIONS TO SEBASTIAN AND EVE AND HOPE THAT THEY, MAY BE BLESSING WITH BEAUTIFUL CHILDREN. I CAN NOT SEE YOUR BROTHER PER AND RICHARD ON YOUR PICTURES , DID THEY ESCAPE FROM YOU? GIVE THEM A BIG HUG FROM ME. LOVE FROM YOUR FRIEND LENE, SEND ME A E MAIL THEN I WILL ANSWER BACK

  12. Jeannette Larsen permalink
    May 24, 2008 13:26

    Hi Louis!

    Now I regret I did not go to the temple yesterday! I had planned to but some things came in between.

    Congratulations to Eva and Sebastian! What a beautiful couple!
    I wish them all the best!

    I actually where in Copenhagen(by your apartment)when he was born. Your mother was so happy when she shouted it to us through the window. That was a great memory.

    I remember I saw Sebastian in september 1986 in Hedehusene.
    Per carried him out to the car and we was allowed to see him.
    I remember him looking at us with the most beautiful blue eyes.

    Thank you for sharing the beautiful pictures with us.

    Hugs
    from
    Jeannette Larsen
    Copenhagen, Denmark

  13. Belle permalink
    May 24, 2008 11:27

    Dear Louis,
    Thank you so much for this article and the (most) beautifull pictures!!! I can’t see Per on any of these pictures…Did he escape from your camera🙂
    I have a deep respect for the mairrages in The Temple. It must be so special.
    Anyway, wish Per, Eva-Linda, Sebastian and Eva a big congratulations!!!!!! I wish them a happy life (and lots of beautifull children).
    Hugs,
    From Belle

Leave a Reply

