Skip to content

I’m a Dead Man

May 12, 2008

I am tired and need to go to sleep. But I thought of something Isak said awhile ago that made me laugh (and I want to write it down before I forget).

One morning he came to me, kind of excited, and said: “Dad, I had a dream about you last night.”

“Oh, really! What did you dream about exactly?”

He thought for a second. “Well, there were some bad guys and some good guys… like in the Lord of the Rings.” He was concentrating on remembering. “You were fighting with the good guys,” he said with a smile.

I can’t wait to hear the end of this one, I thought. It was the way he told it, as if he was building up to something special. Maybe a super-dad-hero tale. “Wow! I was chasing away Orcs? Awesome!”

“Yeah,” he said with a smile.

This is going to be good. But wanting to hear the rest I asked: “What then?”

“They killed you!” he answered casually.

“They what?”

“They killed you!” he repeated.

“But I was helping the good guys! What do you mean I was killed?”

I don’t know… but you’re pretty much a dead man!”

“Well… what happened after that?” I was still hanging on to the hope of some good ending.

“Nothing. I woke up.”

“That’s it! You woke up?” I had just dropped from hero to zero. He had me set up for a lot more.

“Yep, that’s pretty much it!” And without waiting for another comment from me he asked: “Can we go out a play now, dad?”

“Sure… why not?” Take me to the orcs, I thought.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    May 13, 2008 10:31

    Well, children are wonderful. They don´t seem to think about how the reaction will be before they tell. Nice to hear/read that it was only a dream, though, and not that you were stuck between a rock and a hard place. 🙂

  2. May 12, 2008 23:29

    DEAR LOUIS,I GET A CHOK WHEN I SEE, THE STAND I AM A DEAD MAND. BUT I WAS GLAD TO READ,THAT IT ONLY WAS, A DREAM YOUR SON HAVE HAD. WE ALL DREAM GOOD OR BAD DREAMS RIGHT?.I HOPE THAT YOU WILL SLEEP WELL AND DREAM GOOD.DREAMS FIND YOU IN MY DREAMS, THAT IS ONE OF,YOUR MANY GOOD SONGS,YOU AND YOUR BROTHER WAS SINGING.LOVE FROM YOUR FRIEND LENE MARIE HØGH DANMARK

  3. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    May 12, 2008 16:40

    Thinking a little more about your son’s dream – it could just indicate he is reaching that age where he is starting to realise that his Dad (unfortunately!) is not an indestructible superhero after all! He is a mortal human being!

  4. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    May 12, 2008 15:27

    How funny! Children come out with the strangest things sometimes. But at least in the dream you can be thankful you were one of the good guys, rather than a baddie! Although Isak obviously knew it was only a dream, perhaps there’s a little message in there somewhere indicating that the good guys don’t always win. And even if they do eventually win – some of the good guys may be sacrificed along the way! It’s just a real shame that in the dream you happened to be one of those sacrificial good guys!

  5. Linda permalink
    May 12, 2008 13:37

    I’m sorry to hear you’re a dead man… but glad to know it was only a dream 🙂

    That’s what we keep telling our kids right; it was only a (bad) dream. Obviously Isak has figured out the difference between dream and reality quite well, as he didn’t mind his dad being killed by orcs.. Boys! What can I say – I have 3 of them!

Leave a Reply

