Skip to content

Baby Born with Two Faces

April 10, 2008

Do you ever seize to be amazed? In India a baby girl, Lali, was born with two faces, a very rare condition knowns as craniofacial duplication. When I saw this photo I thought, “Oh no! Poor child. Poor family. How will they ever survive this enormous trail?” But then I read the article in the Chicago Tribune. I was simply awestruck. Instead of feeling “cursed” by God (or the gods), this family actually feels blessed, even believing the child to be the reincarnation of a Hindu goddess. They plan to build a temple in her honor, and people are visiting them every day bringing gifts and money. Their poor little village is now known all across the world. The other blessing is that the girl actually is doing well physically. Her parents say Lali is fine, just like any other child.

Naturally, life will be become more and more difficult for the girl as she grows up, but I am still impressed how this family has taken on this seemingly impossible challenge and turned it around; they only see their child as a blessing for the family, nothing else. Talk about a positive outlook. I hope the grace of God will continue to wrap its arms around little Lali – especially in the years ahead.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 09:24

    Practically, this little baby will have to face many challenge with here two face. may god bless her.

  2. Aimee permalink
    February 19, 2011 03:45

    Wow, this is really interesting! When I saw this picture I thought of a million questions. Is this really one child with two faces or is it actually two children combined? Do they share the same brain? Do both mouths feed? Cry? Spit up? Does one “face” control one half of the body and the other control the other?

  3. preety permalink
    November 18, 2010 15:37

    well its actually a miracle that the child’s parents did not bury her alive as that is what most indian parents will do.religion wise or not i am happ that this child is still alive.though lil lali might struggle in future but she has all the blessings from everyone around her so im sure she will be fine.as a hindu myself im grateful that at least this child is alive eventhough people might think she is a reincarnation of godess.

  4. mitasha permalink
    August 28, 2010 12:26

    its faith but more of intelligence atleast the kid wouldnt be nagged for not being normal,the family is getting all the support.its actually great

  5. D.F. permalink
    January 24, 2009 11:16

    Today I watched MTV retro and suddenly got an idea of how to find a band called “Heiress”… which I liked back then (A melody of one of your songs was still in my head. It turned out to be Summertime.)

    Well I never knew how to spell your band’s name but I did remember you had won a prise in Sopot around 86. So I found you! Well I am not as happy as I thought I would be…

    I still don’t get it… why a person with a somewhat attractive human face would become a ball-faced man… It is quite a shock!!! I will be haunted by this for a while… Anyway sad reality of western way of life, too much input of refined foods and little output of energy, slowed metabolism, etc.! (Well I feel I am a little harsh here… if I hadn’t looked myself in a mirror for 24 years I would be in even bigger shock🙂 Lucky for me I have.)

    So as a former “fan” I read some of your postings. I saw the two-faced Lali and my first thought was about how her brain will command her 4 eyes, 2 mouths, etc. Well I kinda got that answer too (thank you for listing her disorder).
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diprosopus

    Well it’s time to put my shock to sleep. For your own sake I hope you will try to live healthier.
    D.F.

  6. April 13, 2008 23:36

    Great thought, Kellie: “twice the smile, twice the sparkle…”
    Give my best to your parents.

  7. Kellie permalink
    April 13, 2008 22:34

    I had a small yet noticable physical problem when I was a child. The attitude my parents had about it went a long way to help me deal with it and accept it. Others may tease me or reject me and that I would be ok because they just didn’t understand.
    Bless her parents for such a wonderful attitude no matter where it comes from. Just think, twice the smile, twice the sparkle in her eyes and the adorable extra dimple. she truly is a blessing, to all those arround her as she grows and teaches those arround her.

  8. April 11, 2008 09:08

    GODMORNING LOUIS WHEN I SAW THE PICTURE OF THE BABY WITH 2 FACES, I THINK IT CANT BE TRUE BUT IT WAS TRUE, I HOPE THAT JESUS WILL BE WITH THE FAMILY. I READ IN THE NEWSPAPER CALL BT ABOUT A MAND AS I PREGNANT, HE HAS BEEN A GIRL BUT HE GET A (SORRY I WRITE IT ON DANISH) KØNSKIFTEOPERATION . THE IS SO MUCH IN THIS WORLD AS CAN CHOCK US. CAN YOU HAVE A NICE DAY MY FRIEND LOVE AND HUG TO YOU AND YOUR 2 BROTHERS AND FAMILY MANY BLESSING FROM YOUR FRIEND LENE MARIE

  9. Linda permalink
    April 10, 2008 14:52

    A baby with two faces – now how amazing is that! But my next thought is, what religion means to people! That is sometimes equally amazing. My thoughts are somewhat like yours; Oh my God this must be a disaster for this family. But they don’t think so. They instantly found some religious meaning in what happened to them. Some would say they are plain stupid (…) Don’t get me wrong, I believe in miracles, I do. Still I can’t help wondering, what kind of situation would it take to make us christians come to a similar conclusion? To me, not believing in the Hindu gods or goddesses, it’s hard to understand how they can see what happened as a blessing. And they refuse to have the baby properly checked by health care personnel. Is it stupidity – or true faith?

    Linda NH

Leave a Reply

