Skip to content

Life is a Game

April 1, 2008

Yesterday Johannes had his first day in school after the heart surgery. He wanted me to go with him, so I took the day off from work and helped him get settled in. It went very well. He was beaming when he saw his class mates again. This will do him a lot of good, I thought.

Today he went by himself, but before I went to work, during the school’s morning break, I went over to there (we live next door) just to see that he was happy. And he was. On the way back I passed Isak and his friends in 1st grade. First Isak ran to me and jumped in my arms, and shouted, “Daaaaady!!!” Then the other kids followed. They immediately asked if I wanted to play a game with them. I smiled, partly because I love to play, but partly because I knew that it won’t take many years before our children will do anything to not have their parents show up on school grounds. How embarrassing! So why not seize the opportunity while it is still there. And work? Well… it could wait twenty more minutes. We played tag and all kinds of games I don’t even know the names of. I haven’t run so much in months. When the bell rang I was all sweaty, but happy still. It was great to be a kid again – if only for a few moments.

So… at our jobs today, let’s step away from our computers and work stations for awhile and run around with our colleagues and play tag. If nothing else, it will put a smile on our faces (seeing how silly we all shall look). But, if we are happier at work, we will work harder and better… right? Maybe even a promotion for a new bill for parliament should be in place here: at least one game per day at every place of employment.

I’ll be the first to vote on it.🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    April 4, 2008 04:48

    I think it’s a fantastic idea! We all need something to lighten up our work days, and if we can manage to do this, it usually helps the working day pass a little more quickly and more enjoyably. In my previous job we sometimes worked long hours, and in staff meetings (which could often be tedious) I would always try to insert some kind of “fun” item into the agenda. I think my colleagues appreciated it – we all enjoyed a good laugh together, and it started the day on a nice note.

  2. April 3, 2008 09:20

    GOOD MORNING LOUIS YOU SO RIGHT IT IS GOD TO BEE A CHILD AGAIN .WHEN I SEE CHILDREN PLAY I THINK WHEN I WAS GOING I SCHOOL AND PLAY WHEN WE HAVE A BREAK . HAVE A NICE DAY LOVE FROM LENE MARIE HØGH

  3. Belle permalink
    April 2, 2008 16:40

    I just love this article…
    You’re so right!! Sometimes it feels so good to be “a child” again. I have 2 boys, they both have a severe grade of autism. When we discovered that, I was so sad. First Laurens, the oldest. Then you think, ok, bad luck…but after Lucas I was pretty mad at God. How could he do that to me. Was I such a bad person??? My whole life was turned upsidedown!I was no longer just a full time mother, but also a full time nurse, therapist….
    What I want to say is … when we don’t “play tag” once and a while…we can’t hold on to the daily stress of life. At least I can’t! And work??? we can work day and night if we want to!

    lots of love,

    Belle

    btw : I saw Johannes on the internet thanking everyone who praid for him! This was so cute!!
    I also sax the struggle with the egg…My son would have destroyed the egg after 2 minutes.🙂

  4. Linda NH permalink
    April 1, 2008 20:53

    I’ll vote for that one!

    I’ve just been chasing my kids around the house for several minutes (although I’m back at my computer now – I need to catch my breath)🙂

    Good thing you managed to put your work aside for a moment, and go play with the kids – I bet they were having the greatest time!

    This is the kind of thing we all should be doing more often

    Linda

  5. Jeannette Larsen permalink
    April 1, 2008 19:15

    Hi Louis!

    Your so right!
    I went to this Easter Convention in Floda, Gothenburg. It was a very fun time and cool to see old friends and meet new ones.
    At the sundaydinner some Danes( I know we are crazy:-) ) had made this fun song. During the song you are supposed to put on a plasticbag on your head, “paper”plates on your ears, paperteeth in your mouth and finally to smal plasticglases on your eyes. It was so fun and we just laughed everytime we locked at eachother. And afterwards it was easier to mingle and party. Don’t worry we waited untill after midnight to party.

    Love
    Jeannette

Leave a Reply

