Skip to content

Young Photographer

January 15, 2008

Found this picture in my files. I had myself a great laugh. It comes from an old music and teen magazine, OKEJ. I had forgotten that this shot was taken, so it was a positive surprise. I was seventeen at the time and had just won the Eurovision Song Contest with my brothers in 1984.  I was young and cute then. Now I am just cute…

The picture is meant to show one of my hobbies back then. Who could think photography would still be such a big part of my life. The camera wasn’t mine, however. It belonged to the photographer. I noticed it was a Nikon. Sorry all Nikon lovers, I use Canon today. I just like they way it handles noice better. Although I must admit, I wouldn’t have anything against owning the new Nikon D3, a camera that seems to have caught up with Canon on all fronts, including a great noice reduction system. The only problem: it’s a little bit expensive, to say the least. Tell you what, my birthday is in November, so you have time to collect some money. 🙂

louis-with-kamera-1984.jpg

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan Burnett-McKeown permalink
    January 26, 2008 13:16

    Hello Louis,

    There is no doubt – you certainly were the “cutie” of the three brothers back then. But maybe that was because you were also the youngest, so age was on your side. Sometimes as people get older, they tend to grow out of their youthful cuteness – but in your case, I think we’ll still let you call yourself “cute”! It’s also nice to see you haven’t grown out of your interest in photography, and have some very nice photos on display.

    Kind regards,
    Jan B.

  2. January 22, 2008 12:19

    Thanks, ladies, for you comments. I appreciate your kindness. And for those of you with all those photos, maybe there should be a get-together someday where everyone can show their best and funniest photos… then we all could have a good laugh together.

  3. Helle permalink
    January 21, 2008 17:06

    Hi Louis.

    How fun to see this photo again. I remember it very well, since it was hanging on my wall when I was 12. That’s a long time ago now and I guess I can say that I’m also just cute now 🙂

    Thank you for a great and inspiring blog and for sharing your thoughts with us.

    Kind regards from Helle in Denmark.

  4. Annika permalink
    January 18, 2008 22:33

    Haha, den bilden känner jag igen! Jag har två lådor fulla med Herreys-bilder, och jag hade hundratals affischer men dem slängde jag i samband med en flytt (det går inte att spara på allt!).

    Jag brukar läsa din blogg (hoppas det är okej att jag skriver på svenska). Ni har så söta barn – jag är själv 3-barnsmamma.

    Tack för en läsvärd blogg!

  5. Charlotte Engel permalink
    January 17, 2008 17:39

    Hi Louis

  6. Mia permalink
    January 16, 2008 16:54

    Hi Louis!!
    I also have lots if scrapbooks with picture from okej,
    and lots more it is nice to have memories and look back.

    enoy your skiing vacation,:)

    Mia,

  7. Jeanette permalink
    January 15, 2008 22:48

    Have you been that cute *GG* ;O)

    I also have lots of scrapbooks, pictures, puzzles and lots more. It is lots of nice memories from a great time in my life.

    Kind Regards
    Jeanette

  8. Lene Klamer permalink
    January 15, 2008 22:38

    Oh! How cute you were! If you want to, I have 2 A4 size and 2 A5 size scrapbooks from the 80´s. I can bring them, next time I will be in Sweden:-)I have the picture as well, if I remember correctly:-) A diary filled with concert memories and other Herrey memories:-) Fun to read!
    Hope you are enjoying your skiing vacation:-) Give my regards to the family

Leave a Reply

