Skip to content

A Gift from the Heart

December 31, 2007

Our family has adopted a special Christmas tradition that I guess could be blended with New Years resolutions. After all the presents were opened, stomachs stuffed with goodies, and the general noise level subdued, the attention rate of our children was a lot better after than before Santa’s arrival. Since timing is everything with kids, that’s when we hit ’em with the nativity story in Luke, chapter 2, after which we talked about the wonders of that first Christmas.

We always end this discussion with thoughts about gifts. Real gifts. Just as the wise men came to honor the newborn Saviour with precious gifts, there are gifts we also can give to Him. But these packages are not hard or soft, nor can they be purchased with dollars. They have to make a real difference. Although these are gifts written as simple words on a piece of paper, they are stuck in the chambers of the heart, hopefully forever.

I did search my heart carefully this time. What would be my greatest gift to Him this year? I didn’t need long to think; I’ve known it for some time: Patience. In the past I have always seen myself as one with much patience, but during the last few years it has started to slip from me. And I want it back! I’m not myself without it, and my family needs a father and a husband who will cherish that virtue better than he has lately.

I wrote the word down on a note, just like the others did, and we put them all in a wooden box which my two sons placed underneath the Christmas tree. Lord Jesus… here is our gift.

Happy New Year! (Make it a good one!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2008 11:32

    Sounds like a wonderful tradition. I like the part about saving the notes. I’m going to start doing that.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. January 1, 2008 04:06

    What a wonderful tradition. 🙂 We do something similar. The first year Paul and I were married we read a neat story and decided it was something we wanted to do every year. Each year I, though more often we do it together and as a family, find some special act of service to do during the year – or multiple acts. Usually something rather involved, and not necessarily to do with Christmas. A lot of prayer goes into the decision as well. Then at Christmas a special note is written about what the act of service is. It is placed in an enveloped and placed in the tree on Christmas Eve – a special gift to my husband – and in essence to the Savior. It is the last gift opened on Christmas day and we talk about how service blesses our lives and the true meaning of Christmas. One of the neatest things is that we have saved all the notes – one for each year in the same envelope. This year, our tenth Christmas together, we read through all the notes and tears were shed as we remembered all that we had given and recieved and how blessed we were by the gift of our Savior.

    It is something that all of us, the kids included, look forward to every Christmas and I hope the children carry the tradition on for years to come.

  3. December 31, 2007 01:21

    Tack Jessica! Hoppas ni fÄr ett underbart nytt Är!

  4. December 31, 2007 00:52

    Ville bara tacka för ert fina exempel! “Detta skall hĂ€danefter bliva min melodi!” (tror det var nĂ„gon kĂ€nd kung eller liknande som en gĂ„ng sa det..hhrm)
    NyĂ„rslöften avlĂ€gges allvarligt pĂ„ nyĂ„rsnatten, men att kombinera med kristusbudskapet och evangeliet Ă€r helt fantastiskt bra! SĂ„ nĂ€sta jul fĂ„r vi ge vĂ„ra löften pĂ„ julafton 🙂

    Gott Nytt År och en jĂ€ttegod fortsĂ€ttning
    mÄnga kramar Jessica

Leave a Reply

