Skip to content

For the Endowments of Life

November 27, 2007

Last week I attended a CES Conference. At one point a friend and colleague gave all the participants a few minutes to write a personal psalm. I’m not a poet, I know, but I was still glad to have a few solitary moments to clear the world from my mind and write these words of gratitude.

For the wonders of the earth, I adore Thee
For the light in heaven, I see Thee
For the glories of thy creations, I admire Thee
For the blessing of family, I honor Thee
For the companionship of friends, I thank Thee
For the power of Thy Word, I worship Thee
For the gift of Thy Son, I praise Thee
For the Spirit that enlightens me, I follow Thee
For all the endowments of life – I love Thee

If I were to add (my own) images to my thoughts it could look something like this.

For the wonders of the earth, I adore Thee 1-earth.jpg For the light in heaven, I see Thee 2-heavens.jpg For the glories of thy creations, I admire Thee 3-creation.jpg For the blessing of family, I honor Thee 4-family.jpg For the companionship of friends, I thank Thee 5-friends.jpg For the power of Thy Word, I worship Thee 6-word.jpg For the gift of Thy Son, I praise Thee 7-son.jpg For the Spirit that enlightens me, I follow Thee 8-spirit.jpg For all the endowments of life – I love Thee 9-life.jpg Comments to some pictures: Nr 4 shows my family; nr 5 shows some colleagues and friends; nr 6 shows a recent baptism in Lodz, Poland, in a ‘home-made’ baptismal font; nr 7 shows one of my Polish Institute students with a painting of Christ in the background.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2008 00:12

    Thanks for sharing, you inspire me to share as follows. Long ago, years back as I was homeless, I wrote the lyrics to a song I made:

    I come to you with a bag of sadness
    I come to you with a bag of sorrows
    I pour it out and I let it flow
    and in this soil will flowers grow

    You give me faith and you give me hope
    you give me strength and you give me love
    you give me love neverending love
    and I don´t even know your name..

  2. Angie permalink
    November 28, 2007 10:34

    And you say you’re not a poet!! It’s been a looooong time since my day started with something so uplifting and inspiring! Great picture of the family too. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

