Skip to content

Have I Messed Up My Kids?

October 15, 2007

“Dad, do you always have to bring that camera?” Haven’t I heard those words a thousand times?

“Yes, my son, I do!” I said patronisingly, “and one day you’ll thank me for doing you this favor! Just get up there and enjoy yourself!”

Both of my sons knew the drill. When dad takes up that big lens, that’s the signal. We were at Church, with all of the Primary (“Sunday school”) children practicing for their annual presentation at worship service. My boys got up on the stand with the rest, and after a few minutes when they spotted me, they cranked up their smiles. Can you guess who they are?

img_2595-wp.jpg

That’s nice, I thought. But I just wanted a “situation” shot. I tried to discretely signal to them to pretend I wasn’t there – and to just look normal! They both nodded. Good, they understood. Then my finger reaches the shutter, and I have a nice image in the view finder. But right as I press down…

img_2589-wp.jpg

Thanks, guys!I got the “stupid” look instead. They have been practicing on that one more frequently, most likely in protest to what they view as my exaggerated photographic zeal.

I just laughed. Poor kids, I have really messed them up, haven’t I?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2007 21:56

    Thanks, Kim, for your friendly comment!

  2. jesusfollower permalink
    October 15, 2007 19:12

    Cute boys! I am the one to bring the camera every where we go too. Its a small 8 mg digital that fits right in my purse, so there is no excuse to not be able to get the shot where ever I may need to. My kids sometimes get annoyed at me too when I am forever taking their pictures.

    Keep on taking those pictures, you’re right Dad, they will thank you for it later.

    Blessings,
    Kim

Leave a Reply

